Changing Our Relationship with Rejection: Diary of an employee after layoff

Loud QA
3 min readJul 11, 2023

I recently experienced a major rejection in my professional life when I got laid off from a job I had invested years of hard work and dedication into. The news was not a surprise to me, but Those first few hours were a rollercoaster of emotions as I tried to come to grips with the sudden change and the uncertainty that lay ahead.

Let’s face it, we all encounter rejection and that’s just inevitable. Whether it’s a visa application denied or a romantic relationship with someone great that just haven’t worked out, or getting a big fat “no” after an interview with our dream company.

In these occasions, we have invested a considerable amount of our time and energy, , sometimes shaping our whole lives around them, and if these things fall apart we experience a particular form of rejection because it comes from a certain place that we hold in high esteem.

We feel the loss, the disappointment, and accepting or looking past the setback can be incredibly tough. We tend to take it personally, doubting ourselves and questioning if we’re as great as we thought we were and it’s a really tough thing to have to go through it and it’s a real blow to our egos.

Then on a random Wednesday, I opened my e-mail and found this board in my inbox. Opening that e-mail was a reminder for me that while I couldn’t control the circumstances that led to this situation, I still had control over how I responded to it.

I know over the past few years of my life, I’ve gone through several different major challenges. My journey and the way I’ve dealt with those challenges, the love I’ve shown to the people in my life, and the strength and resilience I’ve demonstrated have build an immense amount of pride in myself and as a result I’m not looking for this pride from the outside world in quite the same way any more and that’s probably why, after a couple of hours of feeling bummed, I could shake it off and be relaxed about the whole thing which by the way came as a surprise to many of my friends.

Don’t get me wrong — I’m not saying that I have absolutely zero sensitivity to rejection; it just means that I have reached a state of acceptance regarding where I channel my energy. By doing things each day that add to my sense of value which is helping me become the person I truly want to be.

So, here’s a message for those who find themselves going through something similar:

  • Always remember this: there are times in our lives where we’ve rejected great opportunities, where we’ve let go or overlooked a incredible possibilities.
  • We continue to work on ourself and become the most incredible version of ourself. It’s not about avoiding rejection or failure altogether, but rather about embracing them as part of our personal growth and development.
  • Remember that you are not alone. Reach out to those who care about you, seek support, and surround yourself with positivity. And perhaps, like me, you may also find unexpected sources of encouragement.

The board now serves as a source of inspiration for me. It reminds me that life is a journey filled with ups and downs, to keep going and never give up on my values and aspirations, no matter how many obstacles I may encounter along the way.

So, keep that board in your heart, let it be a symbol of your resilience, and remember that setbacks are not the end — they’re opportunities for growth and self-discovery.

P.S. Great Thanks to Mathew Hussey who is a love life coach but I took his advice and applied it in all aspects of my life. The idea of this post came to me after listening to this video

--

--

Loud QA

life is an experimental journey. I believe building a shared and inclusive culture will take a conscious effort. (She/Her) #mahsaAmini